Skip to content

kettle corn with caramelized cashews

May 21, 2012

It’s Monday, friends.  And it really feels like a Monday around here – busy, busy, and still feels like I didn’t quite get to everything I needed to.  At the end of the day, I came home and was happy to be reminded that I had something fun for the blog.  Mondays are too serious.  They need something light…and sweet.  Something like kettle corn studded with caramelized cashews.

And since work ran late and there is something that smells warm and delicious coming from the stove, I’m going to make this a quick one.

First though, a quick reality check.  This is a great recipe, and I highly recommend it.  However, Frank had to come to the rescue of the popcorn.  It turns out that in my impatient, distractible hands, something as time-sensitive as popcorn is in trouble.  I burned one batch and produced one batch that was oddly soggy, and finally I had to turn it over to the expert.  Good thing.  Frank’s kettle corn was crisp, crunchy, and irresistible.

I simply don’t have “the touch” with popcorn.  Okay, and perhaps, I did not follow the directions very closely, as my husband warned me several times I must do.  I wrote the instructions carefully and clearly at the bottom of this post, largely for my own sake.  (I’m not sure I can handle another kettle corn failure the next time I make this.)

Suffice it to say, I am confident that you will be a bit less impatient than me, and will have no trouble with this recipe at all.  If you have any interest in making your own kettle corn and adding something that puts it totally over the edge, like caramelized cashews, the recipe that follows will not disappoint.  The caramelized cashews were a great find from the blog I was assigned this month through Secret Recipe ClubThe Freshman Cook.

And when, after a few fails, a bit of cursing, and an ever-patient husband who saved the day, I at last produced this finished snack, we literally could not keep our hands out of the bowl.  It is not overwhelmingly sweet.  Just a hint of sweetness really.  But the crisp salty popcorn with the crunchy caramel kiss of those cashews… well, they turn out to be the perfect pair.

_____

Caramelized Cashews
adapted slightly from The Freshman Cook 

makes 1 cup

-Ingredients-
1 cup cashews
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Lay a square piece of parchment paper on the kitchen counter.
Put a small, dry skillet over medium-high heat.  When the skillet is hot, add the cashews and toast, stirring frequently, until the cashews start to brown on both sides, about 5 minutes.  Pour the cashews onto the parchment paper and set aside to cool.
Return the skillet to the burner and reduce the heat to medium.  Sprinkle the sugar evenly into the bottom of the hot skillet.  Heat the sugar, without stirring, until it has all melted, 4-5 minutes.  (Keep a close eye on it at the end, as it will start to burn just moments after it has all melted.) Pour the cashews and cinnamon into the pan and stir vigourously until all of the cashews are evenly coated in sugar.  Scrape the sticky cashews onto the parchment paper.  Allow the cashews to cool completely, about 20 minutes.
When the cashews are completely cool, use your hands to break them apart into bite-sized pieces.
Serve with a batch of still-warm-from-the-pan kettle-corn (recipe below).

_____

Frank’s Kettle Corn

serves 2 popcorn-loving grown-ups

To make this recipe, one popcorn-capable spouse is highly recommended.

-Ingredients-

3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1/3 cup popcorn
1/6 cup sugar
pinch of salt

Pour the oil into a large pot with a tight-fitting lid.  Add three popcorn kernels to the oil and place the pan over medium-high heat (do not put the lid on the pot yet).  When one kernel pops (the signal that the oil is hot enough), immediately pour the remaining kernels into the pan and put the lid on the pot.  Take the pan off the heat for 30 seconds.  (Frank literally counts to 30.)

Put the pot back over the heat and pour the sugar on top of the kernels.  Hold the lid on the pot so that it is slightly ajar (you just want a small space to be open so that steam, but not popcorn can escape).  Vigourously swirl the pan so that the sugar evenly coats the kernels.

With the pot over medium-high heat and the lid held slightly ajar (see the picture below), gently shake the pot every few seconds until nearly all of the kernels have popped and there is a 2 second break between “pops”. Quickly pour the kettle corn into a bowl (the sugar will still be very hot, so any kernels that remain in the pot will burn). Allow the popcorn to cool slightly before tossing it with your hands to break it apart.

Serve immediately.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 11:21 pm

    Lovely pics… Caramelized Cashews and popcorn, would definitely love to try this some day :)

  2. May 21, 2012 11:34 pm

    oooooo look so good. Going to make this next time I go to the cinema! Great blog.

  3. Claire @ Claire K Creations permalink
    May 22, 2012 4:42 am

    Ooh I like the sound of coming home to a big batch of this. I was just sent some macadaemia nuts… might just have to try it out with those!

    • May 22, 2012 7:34 am

      Welcome back, Claire! Macadamia nuts would be a fantastic addition! Can’t wait to hear about your honeymoon adventure!

  4. May 22, 2012 7:17 am

    Yum…love popcorn, and the addition of the caramelized cashews is a great addition!! Fantastic recipe…so glad to be in SRC Group C with you!!

  5. May 22, 2012 7:29 am

    My husband is a popcorn lover. He eats it two or three times a week. I finally broke down and bought him a Whirly Popper which is great for making fresh popcorn. Definitely worthwhile since I was burning the corn like you.

    I think we’ll try this recipe out but I might have to reserve some of those nuts for my salad the next day at lunch. They look wonderful. Great photos!

  6. May 22, 2012 7:39 am

    Yum!

  7. May 22, 2012 8:57 am

    Thanks for making my carmelized cashews look so good. Great idea to pair them with the
    popcorn!

  8. May 22, 2012 10:31 am

    I don’t have a way with popcorn either. But I’m willing to give it a try if I can add these luscious caramelized cashews to it! Teri has a GREAT blog and you chose a great recipe from it! : )

  9. May 22, 2012 12:42 pm

    We always make popcorn on the weekends in our house (served with melted butter and healthy dose of nutritional yeast, yum!) and always stove top. We had a whirley pop thingy, but it has become almost unusable. Paul is still fighting with it, but I’ve switched over to just using a pot with a lid. Some great tips on technique here! Will definitely have to put kettle corn into rotation.

  10. May 22, 2012 12:53 pm

    I love cashews and kettle corn. Looks delicious.
    I had so much fun looking at you blog this month–the Thai pizza was excellent. I made it 2 nights in a row. We just couldn’t get enough!!

    • May 22, 2012 1:26 pm

      Cindy – I’m glad to hear it! And so happy to discover your blog!

  11. May 23, 2012 2:28 am

    Coming from your page on Foodgawker. All your pics are absolutely amazing :)

  12. May 23, 2012 6:28 pm

    Great stuff. Sounds addictive!

  13. May 24, 2012 1:40 am

    yum. I better not make too much of this one;) Dangerous! G @ http://caramelizelife.com/

  14. May 25, 2012 12:23 am

    Yes please! Friday night is now totally sorted C:

  15. May 25, 2012 9:20 pm

    What a great snack! I have to try this!!

  16. May 28, 2012 9:55 am

    Reblogged this on Notes from "A Place to Live Forever" and commented:
    I had kettle corn recently and it was so delicious but warning I think it might be habit forming. It would be wonderful to make for a birthday party or special event. I would love to hear from someone who tries this recipe. Yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Kettle Corn with Caramelized Cashews: Inquiring Chef | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

